Free Gift with Every Purchase



Not all cuts are created equal.

When lapidary craftsmen (and craftswomen) cut gemstones, “the first cut is the deepest,” and the most important. It decides the fate of the diamond cut.

The GIA recognized a need to group equal quality craftsmanship under the same name. 

You see a diamond’s cut is a quality factor that fuels a diamond’s highly desired brilliance, fire, and sparkle. All a diamond’s allure and beauty depend more on the cut quality than any other 4 C’s. 

The GIA’s Diamond Cut Grading System for standard round brilliants in the D-to-Z color range (traditional colorless diamonds) is based on the assessment of seven components. 

The first three are:

  • Brightness
  • Fire
  • Scintillation

The remaining four are:

  • Weight ratio
  • Durability
  • Polish
  • Symmetry

In the GIA’s system, each component is assessed individually, considering the relative importance of that component in the overall cut quality of the diamond being examined.

Each cut grade is based on a relative scale:

  • Excellent 
  • Very Good
  • Good
  • Fair
  • Poor 

and represents a range of proportion sets and face-up appearances. There are several proportion sets that produce attractive diamonds. To learn more in depth details, head to the website.

When searching for the right piece, make sure you have a quality cut gemstone no matter if you’re looking for a diamond or any other gem.

Remind yourself, what mood and emotion do I want my partner to feel during that first impression?

Previous post Next post